Go to contents

Dong-A Ilbo, CMS to host 2018 best athletes award ceremony

Dong-A Ilbo, CMS to host 2018 best athletes award ceremony

Posted December. 11, 2018 08:56,   

Updated December. 11, 2018 08:56


Who are the players of the year in 2018 all approved by their colleagues? A special award ceremony is taking place in South Korea where athletes vote for their colleagues to choose the best player in the five different sports including baseball, football, basketball, volleyball, and golf.

An award ceremony titled “2018 Dong-A Sports Award joined by CMS” is going to be held at 11:30 a.m. Tuesday, at the Four Seasons Hotel Seoul.

Jointly hosted by the Dong-A Ilbo, Channel A, and Central Medical Service Co., Ltd. (CMS), the event will put eight players on the limelight. To promote the fairness and transparency, a steering committee has been put together from the staff members of operation and PR department of the organizations from each sport field to winnow out the candidates and decide the voters. This year, the voting pool will consist of 313 voters, and 30 to 50 athletes from different sports have participated to vote.

For baseball, Kim Jae-hwan (Doosan), the regular season MVP, Yang Ui-ji, the biggest FA fish, and Park Byung-ho(Nexen), who has proved his form with 43 homers this season, are competing for the accolade.

For football, Lee Yong (Jeonbuk), who has led his team to championship in the K League 1 and boasted stellar performance during the Russian World Cup, Lee Dong-gook (Jeonbuk), the veteran striker who scored 13 goals this season, Moon Sun-min (Incheon), who proved his versatility with 14 goals and six assists, are vying for the honor.

For men’s volleyball Oh Se-geun (KGC), the pillar of Korean volleyball, is having a stab at winning the title two years in a row, and Park Hye-jin, who played a major role in Asan Woori Bank Wibee’s winning their sixth championship this year, is aiming to take home the award for the fourth consecutive year.

Bae-Jung Kim wanted@donga.com