Go to contents

Korean Basketball League announces 12 legendary players

Posted February. 02, 2017 06:59,   

Updated February. 02, 2017 07:12


The Korean Basketball League on Wednesday announced a list of 12 “legendary” players to mark the 20th anniversary of the launch of Korean professional basketball. The 12 legends include 10 former and current Korean players: the South Korean national team’s head coach Hur Jae (52), Seoul SK Knights head coach Moon Kyung-eun, Seoul Samsung Thunders head coach Lee Sang-min (45), Seoul SK Knights coach Chun Hee-chul (44), basketball player-turned television entertainer Seo Jang-hoon (43), Jeonju KCC Egis head coach Choo Seung-kyun (43), basketball commentator Hyun Joo-yeop (42), Seoul Samsung Thunders player Joo Hee-jung (40), Wonju Dongbu Promy player Kim Joo-sung (38) and Mobis Phoebus player Yang Dong-geun (36). The other two non-Korean legends are now-retired Johnny McDowell (46) and Goyang Orions player Aaron Haynes. Twelve is the number of entries a team can have in a match.

Korea’s pro-basketball started on February 1, 1997 with a match between SBS (currently Anyang KGC) and Daewoo (currently Incheon Electroland Elephants).

Seung-Kun Lee why@donga.com