Go to contents

Government Adds 22 High Officials

Posted July. 28, 2005 11:38,   


President Roh Moo-hyun announced replacements and new positions for eleven vice-ministerial level officials on July 27. Kwon Tae-shin, the presidential advisor to economic policy, was appointed the second vice-minister of the Ministry of Finance and Economy.

According to the new dual vice ministerial system, the Ministry of Finance and Economy, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Ministry of Government Administration and Home Affairs, and the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Energy all now have one more vice minister. The commissioner of the Korea National Statistical Office (KNSO), the chief of the National Maritime Police Agency, and the administrator of the Korea Meteorological Administration (KMA) also were promoted to vice ministerial officials. With the implementation of the revised law, the current administration now has 37 ministers and 91 vice ministers, which is four more ministers and eighteen more vice ministers compared to the previous Kim Dae-jung administration.

Jung-Hun Kim jnghn@donga.com