Go to contents

High-ranking Education, Tax Officials Tender Resignations

High-ranking Education, Tax Officials Tender Resignations

Posted December. 17, 2008 08:36,   


High-ranking officials from the Education, Science and Technology Ministry and the National Tax Service submitted letters of resignation yesterday amid the government’s attempt to revise a law to that end.

Education Minister Ahn Byong-man received resignations from his top seven officials, including assistant minister for planning and coordination; the policy chiefs for human resources, science and technology, and academic research; the chairman of the Appeals Commission for Teachers; the vice superintendent of Seoul public schools; and the director of the National Science Museum.

The tax office also said Deputy Manager Jeong Byeong-chun, Seoul National Tax Office Commissioner Kim Gap-sun and Jungbu Regional Tax Office Commissioner Jo Seong-gyu all handed in their resignations over the weekend.

The Education Ministry said, “The minister asked the highest-ranking officials to hand in their resignations as part of his personnel reshuffle last weekend. All of his senior officials decided to support the minister’s determination.”

The tax office also recommended six candidates to fill three vacant positions to the presidential office.

ruchi@donga.com legman@donga.com