Go to contents

Everest Marathon

Posted May. 31, 2006 03:00,   


Starting from the Mt. Everest base camp at 5,346 meters above sea level, the 2006 Tenzing Hillary Everest Marathon event opened on May 29. A total of 140 runners participated in the marathon, held every year to commemorate the first-ever historical ascent of Mt. Everest by Sir Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay Sherpa in 1953. Mr. Dipak Raj won this year’s event with a time of three hours and twenty-six minutes, which started from the Mt. Everest base camp and finished at the Namche Camp at 3,446 meters.