Go to contents

Relief Center for Ad Boycott Victims Established

Posted June. 18, 2009 08:14,   


Three civic organizations yesterday launched a center for the victims of an advertising boycott campaign at Paichai Hakdang’s Museum of History in Seoul.

Lawyers for Citizens, the Civil Coalition for Fair Media, and Citizens United for a Better Society plan to indict the Korea Press Consumerism Organization to the Seoul Central Prosecutors’ Office around 9:30 a.m. today.

The three groups said in a joint statement, "We reached an agreement that the ad boycott campaign of the Korea Press Consumerism Organization is an act of shaking Korea’s free market economy to its foundations. At the relief center, we will listen to the complaints of victims of the ad boycott and come up with countermeasures.”

Lee Heon of Lawyers for Citizens at the launching ceremony said, “Under the pretense of a consumers’ movement, the consumerism organization is utterly shaking up the market. Since the organization’s movement has been in the form of a civic campaign, we also need to protect innocent people from the organization’s attack through a civic campaign.”

The relief center is co-chaired by Lee Jae-gyo, Inha University law professor and head of the Civil Coalition for Fair Media; Yun Chang-hyeon, general director of Citizens United for a Better Society; and Lee Heon, co-representative of Lawyers for Citizens.

Sungkyunkwan University law professor Kim Min-ho and lawyers Seo Seong-geon and Lee Jae-won were named the center’s commissioners for practical affairs.

After the launching ceremony, members of the center held a forum under the theme, "What Problems Does the Recent Ad Boycott Have," and exchanged opinions on the boycott.

Lee Jae-gyo said, “The ad boycott cannot be understood as a form of consumerism. It is just an attempt to violate freedom of the media via a political movement under the pretense of consumerism.”

Organizations or individuals damaged by the ad boycott can file reports with the center or on the homepages of the three organizations.