Go to contents

Pro-Park Faction Loses Tickets

Posted March. 25, 2008 04:20,   


The nomination process of the conservative Grand National Party (GNP) and the liberal United Democratic Party (UDP) for the 18th general elections, slated for April 9, virtually ended as the two parties announced their candidates for proportional representation on March 24.

The GNP confirmed 50 candidates including Pastor Kang Myung-sun, who is considered a godmother of the less privileged, as candidate number one, and Lim Doo-sung, who has overcome the odds of Hansen’s Disease and now serves as president of the Hanvit Welfare Association, Korea’s only non-government organization dedicated to representing those affected by the disease, as candidate number two.

Bae Eun-hee, vice president of the Korea Bio Venture Association, who served President Lee Myung-bak’s chief campaign manager during his presidential campaign, was confirmed as candidate number three, and Kang Seong-cheon, vice chairman of the Federation of Korean Trade Unions, as number four. Former Defense Minister Kim Jang-soo was given number six, Rep. Jeong Jin-seok, who failed to win the district nomination ticket, number eight, and Lee Eun-Jae, a member of the party nomination screening committee, number nine.

As for the pro-Park Geun-hye group, many key members were dropped although four of them including Lee Jeong-hyun, a spokesman for Park’s camp, were given tickets. Lee is number 22.

Lee Kyung-sook, head of the disbanded presidential transition committee, was once considered as candidate number one for proportional representation, but she was excluded from the nominations as she revoked her nomination application on March 23.

In the case of UDP’s nomination, 40 candidates were confirmed for proportional representation. Lee Seong-nam, a female financial expert and board member of the Monetary Board of the Bank of Korea, was decided as candidate number one and Park Eun-su, chairman of the Korea Employment Promotion Agency for the Disabled, as number two.

Former UDP senior member Shin Nak-gyun became the ninth candidate and Choi Moon-soon, former president of Munhwa Broadcasting Corporation, the 10th.

Key allies of UDP Co-chairman Sohn Hak-kyu make up for six out of the first ten members, and those belonging to the former Democratic Party account for four out of all 40 candidates.

Former senior advisor Chung Dae-cheol of the UDP lodged a complaint with the Supreme Committee after his son, Ho-joon, was given number 24 after failing in a district nomination bid. Former lawmaker Jeong Beom-gu has won the nomination ticket for Seoul Jung-gu district.

koh@donga.com ditto@donga.com