Go to contents

[Baseball] American League Wins 11th Straight All-Star Game

[Baseball] American League Wins 11th Straight All-Star Game

Posted July. 17, 2008 08:30,   


Yankee Stadium will be demolished at the end of this baseball season, and got a fitting sendoff in the 79th All-Star Game.

The American League yesterday edged the National League 4-3 in the longest All-Star Game in history.

The 15-inning marathon ended at 1:38 a.m. New York time Wednesday, lasting four hours and 50 minutes. The 1967 All-Star Game also took 15th innings to decide, though not as long as this year’s.

The American League won its 11th consecutive win in the game dating back to 1997. As a reward, an American League team will host Games 1, 2, 6 and 7 of the World Series. The American League had lost all nine All-Star Games that had required extra innings.

The National League, however, still leads with 40 wins in the summer classic against 37 losses and two ties. It took the lead on a solo homer by Matt Holliday of the Colorado Rockies off Los Angeles Angels pitcher Ervin Santana in the top of the fifth.

The lead was widened in the next inning on consecutive hits by Hanley Ramirez of the Florida Marlins and Chase Utley of the Philadelphia Phillies. This led to a run thanks to a sacrifice by Houston Astros first baseman Lance Berkman.

Boston Red Sox outfielder J.D. Drew tied the game with a line drive two-run blast in the seventh. With each team adding a run in the eighth, the 3-3 tie headed into extra innings.

The game-winning run came from Michael Young of the Texas Rangers, who also helped the American League win in 2006. With the bases loaded in the bottom of the 15th, he hit a one-out sacrifice to right field. The right fielder rifled the ball to home plate, but the winning run scored from third.

Drew was named Most Valuable Player for his game-tying home run.