Go to contents

President Names New Justice Minister

Posted August. 09, 2006 04:30,   


President Roh Moo-hyun nominated Kim Sung-ho, secretary general of the Korea Independent Commission Against Corruption, as the new justice minister Tuesday. In addition, he also named Kwon O-ryong, the first vice minister of Government Administration and Home Affairs, as the minister-level chairman of the Civil Service Commission.

By not choosing former chief presidential secretary for civil affairs Moon Jae-in, who the ruling Uri Party strongly opposed, the tensions between Cheong Wa Dae and the ruling Uri Party are now expected to be patched up for the moment.

"Moon Jae-in who was one of the candidates who refused the post during a process of deliberation, saying he did not want to add pressure to the president on his management of state affairs. The president selected Kim Sung-ho in consideration that there are a great number of pending state problems," senior presidential secretary for personnel affairs Park Nam-chun said.

In addition, Park said the selection of the successor for Kim Byung-joon, former education minister, is unlike to take place within this week.

President Roh also nominated 12 vice-ministerial level officials.

Among those, Lee Sun-hee, commissioner of the Defense Acquisition Program Administration, and Kim Byong-bae, director-general for competition policy of the Korea Fair Trade Commission were promoted to the vice-ministerial level. The promotions were based on accomplishment instead of hierarchy by using a grading system of senior government officials, which was launched on July 1, an official of Cheong Wa Dae stressed.