Go to contents

POSCO reveals shortlist for its new chairman

Posted June. 23, 2018 07:59,   

Updated June. 23, 2018 07:59


POSCO has revealed a list of five candidates for its new chairman. All the chosen candidates are either incumbent or former presidents of South Korea’s largest steelmaker and its affiliates, some candidates who dropped out early publicly expressed their strong opposition against the selection process.

POSCO’s (CEO) Succession Council announced Friday that it has confirmed a shortlist of five candidates for its top position after eight rounds of meeting from April 23. The shortlist includes POSCO Daewoo CEO Kim Young-sang, former POSCO CEO Kim Jin-il, POSCO Steel Segment 1 President Oh In-hwan, POSCO Steel Segment 2 President Chang In-wha and POSCO ComTech President Choi Jung-woo.

The steelmaker’s Recommendation Committee for CEO Candidates plans to screen qualifications and interview candidates to narrow down the number of the finalists to two and then appoint its new chairman. If the board of directors confirm‎s the last man, the CEO appointment process is finished after a special general meeting of shareholders and board of directors meeting next month.

Eun-Taek Lee nabi@donga.com