Go to contents

Composer Jin Eun-sook wins Marie-Josee Kravis Prize

Posted October. 13, 2018 07:47,   

Updated October. 13, 2018 07:47


Korean composer Jin Eun-sook was awarded the 4th Marie-Josee Kravis Prize this year, according to the New York Philharmonic on Tuesday (local time). She will get 200,000 U.S. dollars as prize money and be commissioned a new large-scale premier by the New York Philharmonic.

The New York Philharmonic established the Marie-Josee Kravis Prize in 2011 to honor a composer with significant achievements. The prize is awarded every two years. Her predecessors are the late Henri Dutilleux of France (1916∼2013), Per Norgard (86) of Denmark, and Louis Andriessen (79) of The Netherlands.

Since the 57-year-old awardee left her position as a senior composer of the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra this January, she has lived in Berlin, Germany.

Won-Mo Yu onemore@donga.com