Go to contents

The draw for 2018 FIFA World Cup to take place on Dec. 1

The draw for 2018 FIFA World Cup to take place on Dec. 1

Posted November. 17, 2017 07:42,   

Updated November. 17, 2017 09:19


As expected by many, Peru (10th in FIFA ranking) beat New Zealand (122nd in FIFA ranking) 2-0 at home in the game 2 of the Intercontinental Playoff for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia. As a result, Peru has earned the 32nd ticket to the 2018 World Cup with one win and one tie, reaching their first World Cup finals in 36 years.

With Peru added to the 32 teams for the 2018 FIFA World Cup, the seeding pots for the Final Draw have been finalized. FIFA has decided to allocate all teams to pots based on their FIFA World Ranking instead of its current continental rotation policy.

After suffering successive defeats to Russia and Morocco last month, Korea saw its ranking fall from 51st in September to 62nd in October. The October edition of the FIFA World Ranking will be used to allocate all teams.

Among the 32 countries qualified, only Russia (65th) and Saudi Arabia (64th) have lower rankings than Korea. Russia, which took the top seeding spot in Group A, will face the second team in Group A ('A2') in the opening game at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow.


The draw for the 2018 FIFA World Cup will take place on December 1 at the State Kremlin Palace in Moscow, Russia. South Korea national football team head coach Shin Tae-yong will prepare for the EAFF E-1 Football Championship, which starts from December 8, after visiting the stadiums and training fields in Russia.

Seung-Kun Lee why@donga.com